The Town of Central was founded in 1873 when the Atlanta & Richmond Air-Line Railway came through connecting Atlanta, GA and Charlotte, NC. The town’s name was derived from its “central” location between the two major cities.


Begun in 1872 as the Village of Calhoun, Clemson is home to Clemson University and many historical structures including Fort Hill and the Hanover House.


The City of Easley was established in 1874 and incorporated in 1901. It is named for Confederate Gen. William King Easley who was instrumental in bringing the railroad to the area.


Chartered in 1876 the Town of Liberty, once known as Liberty Springs, sprang up along the newly built rail line connecting Charlotte and Atlanta.


In 1895 Col. Daniel K. Norris, a wealthy cotton planter, established the first cotton mill in Pickens County here on the Twelve Mile River and the Town of Norris arose along the railroad.


An unincorporated community of northeast Pickens County, Dacusville is known for its agricultural history, early families, and natural beauty.


The City of Pickens was originally founded along the banks of the Keowee River in 1828 as the town of Pickens Court House. It was moved to its current site in 1868 when Pickens District was divided into Pickens and Oconee Counties.

Six Mile

Originally known as Hurricane Township, Six Mile is home to the true landmark of South Carolina’s Upcountry, Six Mile Mountain.


Wild pumpkins grew abundantly in the dark soil of the Oolenoy River valley when the earliest white settlers arrived, hence the unique name. From the local tribal chieftain, Woolenoy, came the name of the river. Every year in October the community hosts the very popular Pumpkin Festival to support their community building and volunteer fire department. Scenic Highway 11 is home to the Pumpkintown Opry and Dinner Theatre and on a mountaintop in Little Liberia is Soapstone Church and their well-maintained slave cemetery on Flyroot Road.